Register now for CAS North East Conference 2019

CAS North East Regional Conference 2016

For both primary and secondary teachers.

08:15-16:30, Thursday 16 June 2016, Newcastle University, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE1 7RU

Helping you implement the computing curriculum.


Overview | Programme
£35.00 by credit card or £40.00 by invoice for a day's CPD!

Overview

The CAS North East Regional Conference is a day of high quality CPD delivered by experienced teacher trainers and practitioners with a focus on lessons to take back to school and opportunities to share practice and ideas with colleagues across the region.

The conference offers a range of hands-on practical sessions on how to deliver various aspects of the computing curriculum in both primary and secondary school. Topics covered include:

The conference opens with a keynote by Sally Waterston. Sally is founder and director of Waterstons, a local IT consultancy established in 1994. Sally will share insights on careers in computing and the skills that employers look for.


Programme

Click on a session title to see its description and information about speaker(s). The key stage relevance is indicative and many sessions will be of interest to both primary and secondary.

Session resources are now available.

08:15-09:15 Registration, tea and coffee HERB Foyer
09:15-09:20 Welcome - Nick Cook <nick.cook@newcastle.ac.uk>, Newcastle University, Newcastle HERB LT2
09:20-10:10 Technology - the employer's perspective - Sally Waterston <Sally.Waterston@waterstons.com>, Waterstons, Durham HERB LT2
10:10-11:15 Barefoot Computing - Andrew Lickley <andrewlickley@gmail.com>, Barefoot Computing, BSTC G.33 KS1, KS2
10:10-11:15 Making Marking Awesome with software development tools - Andrew Charlton <andrew.charlton@venerablebede.co.uk>, Venerable Bede CoE Academy, Sunderland BSTC G.34 KS3, KS4, KS5
10:10-11:15 Networks almost unplugged - Duncan Maidens <duncan.maidens@bcu.ac.uk>, CAS West Midlands and Birmingham City University, BSTC G.36 KS1, KS2, KS3, KS4
10:10-11:15 Physical computing in primary with the Crumble controller - Nick Cook <nick.cook@newcastle.ac.uk>, Newcastle University, Newcastle, and Jane Waite <jane.waite@computingatschool.org.uk>, CAS London, London BSTC Side KS1, KS2
10:10-11:15 Play Minecraft, Learn Python - Chris Wilde <c.wilde@rgs.newcastle.sch.uk>, Royal Grammar School, Newcastle Daysh Rack KS2, KS3
11:15-11:30 Break HERB Foyer
11:30-12:35 BBC micro:bit micropython programming - Simon Roberts <sroberts@carmel.org.uk>, Carmel College, Darlington Daysh Mill KS3
11:30-12:35 Challenging learners of all abilities in Programming with Python - Ben Hughes <hughes.b@sandhillview.com>, Sandhill View Academy, Sunderland BSTC G.34 KS3, KS4
11:30-12:35 Cross-curricular computing in primary - Kelly Smith <kelly.smith12@gmail.com>, Our Lady of Lourdes RCVA Primary, Shotton BSTC G.33 KS1, KS2
11:30-12:35 Play Minecraft, Learn Python - Chris Wilde <c.wilde@rgs.newcastle.sch.uk>, Royal Grammar School, Newcastle Daysh Rack KS2, KS3
11:30-12:35 Primary robotics with the CrumbleBot - Nick Cook <nick.cook@newcastle.ac.uk>, Newcastle University, Newcastle, and Jane Waite <jane.waite@computingatschool.org.uk>, CAS London, London BSTC Side KS2
11:30-12:35 The Knight's Tour - graphs, algorithms, abstraction and decomposition - Mark Clarkson <mwclarkson@gmail.com>, Egglescliffe School, Eaglescliffe BSTC G.36 KS3, KS4
12:35-13:25 Lunch HERB Foyer
13:25-14:30 Barefoot Computing - Andrew Lickley <andrewlickley@gmail.com>, Barefoot Computing, BSTC G.33 KS1, KS2
13:25-14:30 Block-based and text-based programming - Steve Bunce <sjbunce@hotmail.com>, Vital CPD, BSTC G.36 KS1, KS2, KS3, KS4
13:25-14:30 Computing education research - Laura Heels <laura.heels@newcastle.ac.uk>, Newcastle University, Newcastle, and Elizabeth Hidson <elizabeth.hidson@gmail.com>, Durham University, BSTC B.29 KS1, KS2, KS3, KS4, KS5
13:25-14:30 Finite State Machines and Finite State Automata - Jeanette Patterson <jeanette.patterson@computingatschool.org.uk>, Saltus Grammar School Bermuda, Bermuda BSTC 2.40 KS3, KS4
13:25-14:30 From burglar alarms to data logging with Scratch and Picoboard - Nick Cook <nick.cook@newcastle.ac.uk>, Newcastle University, Newcastle BSTC Side KS1, KS2, KS3
13:25-14:30 Sonic Pi - computer science through music - Sarah Zaman <sarah.zaman@computingatschool.org.uk>, CAS North West - Manchester, Manchester BSTC G.34 KS2, KS3
14:30-14:45 Break HERB Foyer
14:45-15:50 BBC micro:bit Block programming and input/output - Nick Cook <nick.cook@newcastle.ac.uk>, Newcastle University, Newcastle BSTC Side KS2, KS3
14:45-15:50 BBC micro:bit micropython programming - Simon Roberts <sroberts@carmel.org.uk>, Carmel College, Darlington Daysh Mill KS3
14:45-15:50 Creative Computing and Communication! - Claire Graham <claire.graham@ntlp.org.uk>, North Tyneside CLC, Cullercoats BSTC 1.48 KS1, KS2, KS3
14:45-15:50 CS Unplugged - Paul Robson <probson@cramlingtonlv.co.uk>, Cramlington Learning Village, Cramlington BSTC G.36 KS2, KS3
14:45-15:50 Minetest in the classroom - John Lamb <john.lamb@computingatschool.org.uk>, Monkwearmouth Academy, Sunderland BSTC G.34 KS2, KS3
14:45-15:50 Primary computing unplugged - Sarah Zaman <sarah.zaman@computingatschool.org.uk>, CAS North West - Manchester, Manchester BSTC G.33 KS1, KS2
15:50-16:20 Close and prize draw - Nick Cook <nick.cook@newcastle.ac.uk>, Newcastle University, Newcastle HERB LT2

We will add to the above list as new sessions are confirmed.


The conference is organised by the CAS North East in collaboration with CAS regional and national partners. supported by the Cloud Innovation Centre