Register now for CAS North East Conference 2019

CAS North East Regional Conference 2017

For both primary and secondary teachers.

08:15-16:30, Thursday 6 July 2017, Newcastle University, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE1 7RU

Helping you implement the computing curriculum.


Overview | Programme
£35.00 by credit card or £40.00 by invoice for a day's CPD!

Overview

The CAS North East Regional Conference is a day of high quality CPD delivered by experienced teacher trainers and practitioners with a focus on lessons to take back to school and opportunities to share practice and ideas with colleagues across the region.

The conference offers a range of hands-on practical sessions on how to deliver various aspects of the computing curriculum in both primary and secondary school. Topics covered include:


Programme

Click on a session title to see its description and information about speaker(s). The key stage relevance is indicative and many sessions will be of interest to both primary and secondary.

Session resources are now available.

08:15-09:15 Registration and coffee HERB Foyer
09:15-09:25 Welcome HERB LT1
09:25-10:10 The BBC micro:bit inside and out - Joe Finney <j.finney@lancaster.ac.uk>, Lancaster University, Lancaster HERB LT1
10:10-10:15 Changeover
10:15-11:15 Computing, SEN and inclusion - Louise Hindmarch <louise.hindmarch@bridges.newcastle.sch.uk>, Newcastle Bridges School, Newcastle BSTC G.33 KS1, KS2, KS3, KS4
10:15-11:15 Data representation and media computation - Simon Roberts <sroberts@carmel.org.uk>, Carmel College, Darlington BSTC 2.40 KS3, KS4
10:15-11:15 Finite state machines and other models - Jim Green <jgreen@consettacademy.org.uk>, Consett Academy, Consett BSTC G.34 KS3, KS4
10:15-11:15 Primary coding with the iPad - Phillippa Chippendale <phillippa.chippendale@ictinschools.org>, Openzone @ The Word, South Shields, and Amanda Hayward <amanda.hayward@ictinschools.org>, Openzone @ The Word, South Shields BSTC G.36 KS1, KS2
10:15-11:15 Using the BBC microbit in primary - Chris Wilde <c.wilde@rgs.newcastle.sch.uk>, Royal Grammar School, Newcastle BSTC Side KS2
11:15-11:30 Break BSTC B.32
11:30-12:30 CAS Quantum - writing high quality questions to assess computing - Mark Frazer <Mark.Frazer@cem.dur.ac.uk>, Durham University, Durham BSTC G.33 KS2, KS3, KS4
11:30-12:30 mBlock - Arduino programming from Scratch to C++ - Chris Napier <c.napier@newcastle.ac.uk>, Newcastle University, Newcastle BSTC G.36 KS2, KS3, KS4, KS5
11:30-12:30 Object oriented theory - Jeanette Patterson <jeanette.patterson@computingatschool.org.uk>, Saltus Grammar School Bermuda, Bermuda BSTC G.34 KS4, KS5
11:30-12:30 Ozobots for block and text based programming - Jordan Graham <jordan.graham@northumberland.gov.uk>, Northumberland County Council, Ashington BSTC Side KS1, KS2, KS3
11:30-12:30 Primary computing unplugged - Kelly Smith <kelly.smith12@gmail.com>, Our Lady of Lourdes RCVA Primary, Shotton BSTC 1.48 KS1, KS2
12:30-13:20 Lunch HERB Foyer
13:20-14:05 Computer models of the human brain - Marcus Kaiser <marcus.kaiser@newcastle.ac.uk>, Newcastle University, Newcastle HERB LT1
14:05-14:10 Changeover
14:10-15:10 Computing education research - Laura Heels <laura.heels@newcastle.ac.uk>, Newcastle University, Newcastle BSTC 1.48 KS1, KS2, KS3, KS4, KS5
14:10-15:10 Digital skills for young learners - Claire Graham <claire.graham@ntlp.org.uk>, North Tyneside CLC, Cullercoats BSTC G.33 KS1
14:10-15:10 Exploring programming pedagogy - from block to text based programming - Steve Bunce <sjbunce@hotmail.com>, Vital CPD, , and Mark Dorling <markdorling@gmail.com>, Queen Mary University of London, London BSTC G.34 KS2, KS3, KS4
14:10-15:10 Network modelling and simulation - Duncan Maidens <duncan.maidens@bcu.ac.uk>, CAS West Midlands and Birmingham City University, BSTC G.36 KS2, KS3, KS4
14:10-15:10 Object oriented programing with Greenfoot - Mark Clarkson <mwclarkson@gmail.com>, Egglescliffe School, Eaglescliffe BSTC Side KS3, KS4, KS5
14:10-15:10 Simulating our World with StarLogoTNG - Nick Cook <nick.cook@newcastle.ac.uk>, Newcastle University, Newcastle BSTC 2.40 KS2, KS3
15:10-15:20 Break BSTC B.32
15:20-16:20 Graph theory - Laura Fox <laura.fox@kps.woodard.co.uk>, Kings Priory School, Tynemouth BSTC G.33 KS3, KS4
15:20-16:20 Little Robot Computer - LMC made simple - John Lamb <john.lamb@computingatschool.org.uk>, Monkwearmouth Academy, Sunderland BSTC G.36 KS3, KS4
15:20-16:20 Primary computing with Code Club - Dan Pudwell <daniel.pudwell@gmail.com>, Code Club UK / Raspberry Pi Foundation, BSTC Chart KS2
15:20-16:20 ScratchMaths - building mathematical knowledge with programming - Tim Mulford <tmulford@whitburncofeacademy.org>, Whitburn CoE Academy, Whitburn, and Kelly Smith <kelly.smith12@gmail.com>, Our Lady of Lourdes RCVA Primary, Shotton BSTC 2.40 KS2
15:20-16:20 Teaching A level for the first time - Paul Robson <probson@cramlingtonlv.co.uk>, Cramlington Learning Village, Cramlington BSTC 1.48 KS4, KS5
15:20-16:20 Using the Raspberry Pi creatively at KS2 - Dan Mount <RWPDMount@tved.org.uk> BSTC Side KS2
16:25-16:35 Close and prize draw - Nick Cook <nick.cook@newcastle.ac.uk>, Newcastle University, Newcastle HERB LT1

We will add to the above list as new sessions are confirmed.


The conference is organised by the CAS North East in collaboration with CAS regional and national partners. supported by the Cloud Innovation Centre