Register now for CAS North East Conference 2019

CAS North East Regional Conference 2018 programme by room
USB 1.006 09:15-09:25 Welcome - Nick Cook (nick.cook@newcastle.ac.uk), Newcastle University, Newcastle
USB 1.006 09:25-10:10 Ten years of CAS - Simon Humphreys (simon.humphreys@computingatschool.org.uk), CAS
USB 1.006 13:15-14:00 Big Data - Paul Watson (paul.watson@newcastle.ac.uk), Newcastle University, Newcastle
USB 1.006 16:15-16:30 Close and prize draw - Nick Cook (nick.cook@newcastle.ac.uk), Newcastle University, Newcastle
USB 2.022 10:10-11:10 Concept mapping in Computing Education - Mark Dorling (markdorling@gmail.com), Queen Mary University of London, London KS2, KS3, KS4, KS5
USB 2.022 11:25-12:25 Teaching robots to dance! - Jane Adamson (jane.adamson@knetic.org.uk), Sunderland Digital School House, Sunderland, and Mark Lloyd (mark.lloyd@knetic.org.uk), Sunderland Digital School House, Sunderland KS1, KS2
USB 2.022 14:00-15:00 Searching and sorting unplugged - Jim Green (jgreen@consettacademy.org.uk), Consett Academy, Consett KS3, KS4, KS5
USB 2.022 15:15-16:15 An Early APProach to Computer Programming - Martin Bailey (martinbailey@animate2educate.co.uk), Animate2Educate, Gateshead KS1, KS2
USB 3.005 10:10-11:10 Physical computing with the Crumble controller - Sarah Zaman (sarah.zaman@computingatschool.org.uk), CAS Community Outreach KS1, KS2
USB 3.005 11:25-12:25 A bluffer's guide to functional programming - Mark Clarkson (mwclarkson@gmail.com), Egglescliffe School, Eaglescliffe KS4, KS5
USB 3.005 15:15-16:15 Physical computing with the Pibrella: the transition from block-based to text-based programming - Chris Napier (chris.napier@newcastle.ac.uk), Newcastle University, Newcastle KS2, KS3, KS4
USB 3.015 10:10-11:10 Edublocks for transition from Scratch to Python - Marty Edwards (marty.edwards@learnitcomputeit.com), Learn IT Compute IT, Newcastle KS2, KS3
USB 3.015 11:25-12:25 Making Analogue / Digital Mashups with the Raspberry Pi - Marty Edwards (marty.edwards@learnitcomputeit.com), Learn IT Compute IT, Newcastle KS2
USB 3.015 15:15-16:15 Digital literacy in primary - Kelly Smith (kelly.smith12@gmail.com), Our Lady of Lourdes RCVA Primary, Shotton KS1, KS2
USB 3.018 10:10-11:10 Greenfoot with Stride – programming after blocks - Neil Brown (kings@bluej.org), King's College London KS3
USB 3.018 11:25-12:25 Simulating the world with Scratch - Nick Cook (nick.cook@newcastle.ac.uk), Newcastle University, Newcastle KS2, KS3
USB 3.018 14:00-15:00 Graphstation: a tool to teach graph theory - John Lamb (john.lamb@computingatschool.org.uk), Monkwearmouth Academy, Sunderland KS3, KS4, KS5
USB 3.018 15:15-16:15 Evidencing assessment in computing across KS2 & KS3 - Jordan Graham (jordan.graham@northumberland.gov.uk), Northumberland County Council, Ashington KS2, KS3
USB 3.032 10:10-11:10 Data Representation for KS3: Hexadecimals, ASCII and the escape room challenge - Ben Garside (ben.garside@computingatschool.org.uk), Raspberry Pi Foundation, Cambridge KS3, KS4
USB 3.032 11:25-12:25 Networking animations and Using Packet Tracer to teach Networking in a hacking context - Duncan Maidens (duncan.maidens@bcu.ac.uk), CAS West Midlands and Birmingham City University KS3, KS4
USB 3.032 14:00-15:00 Programming in Kodu with the micro:bit - Craig Skinner (c.skinner200@durhamlearning.net), The Grove Primary School, Consett KS2
USB 3.032 15:15-16:15 The PRIMM - Predict, Run, Investigate, Modify, Make - approach to teaching programming - Simon Roberts (sroberts@carmel.org.uk), Carmel College, Darlington KS3, KS4
USB 4.005 10:10-11:10 Smelly Code - improving primary pupils programming - Jane Waite (jane.waite@computingatschool.org.uk), CAS London, London KS1, KS2
USB 4.005 11:25-12:25 What's trending? #esafety - Phillippa Chippendale (phillippa.chippendale@ictinschools.org), Openzone @ The Word, South Shields, and Amanda Hayward (amanda.hayward@ictinschools.org), Openzone @ The Word, South Shields KS1, KS2, KS3, KS4, KS5
USB 4.005 14:00-15:00 Why teach card tricks in class? - Claire Graham (claire.graham@ntlp.org.uk), North Tyneside CLC, Wallsend KS2, KS3
USB Atrium 08:15-09:15 Registration and coffee
USB Atrium 11:10-11:25 Break
USB Atrium 12:25-13:15 Lunch
USB Atrium 15:00-15:15 Break
USB G.003 11:25-12:25 Computing education research - Laura Heels (laura.heels@newcastle.ac.uk), Newcastle University, Newcastle, and Chris Napier (chris.napier@newcastle.ac.uk), Newcastle University, Newcastle KS1, KS2, KS3, KS4, KS5
USB G.003 14:00-15:00 The use of game development tool Construct 3 to teach computing - Tom Gullen (tom@scirra.com), Scirra, London KS2, KS3, KS4

Room key

All rooms are in the Urban Sciences Building, Science Central:


Return to conference home page ...